The Low Carbon Cities Framework (LCCF) Awards were presented to 12 Local Authorities and 1 University with 3 of the Local Authorities receiving the Diamond Recognition Award at the IGEM 2018.

LCCF is a national low carbon framework for cities which was developed by the Ministry of Energy, Science, Technology, Environment and Climate Change (MESTECC) formerly known as the Ministry of Energy, Green Technology and Water Malaysia (KeTTHA) and the Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia) under the Smart Sustainable Cities flagship, to facilitate, guide and assess the development of low carbon cities throughout Malaysia and support its goal of becoming a green nation by 2020. The LCCF also assist local authorities, developers and universities to achieve low carbon status, providing tools to implement strategies that will reduce their carbon emissions by phases.

The LCCF Diamond Recognition recipients are recognised for their efforts in reducing their levels of carbon emission based on their comprehensive action plan. At the end of 2017, Majlis Bandaraya Shah Alam (MBSA), Majlis Perbandaran Klang (MPK) and Majlis Perbandaran Seberang Prai (MPSP) have successful reduced a combined total of 4,268.15 tCO2 in emissions. They have achieved this through efforts in building energy efficiency, waste recycling, providing low carbon mobility solutions and substantive tree planting in their cities.

As for the Provisional Certificate recipients, they are being recognised for completing and fulfilling the baseline assessment within their working systems where a comprehensive action plan is being developed to be implemented over the next couple of years.

LCCF is a performance-based system that measures a city’s environmental impact. It looks at the total carbon emissions of a city across 4 key elements; Urban Infrastructure, Urban Environment, Urban Transportation and Buildings. Realizing the importance of measuring performance of cities and townships vis a vis to CO2 emission levels of the country, this aspiration of LCCF is to inspire stakeholders and users to participate in the mitigation of climate change through a real time carbon abatement measure.

For this year’s LCCF Award for Diamond Recognition and Provisional Certificates recipients at IGEM 2018 are as follows.

LCCF Diamond Recognition Award Recipients

LCCF Diamond Recognition:

  • Majlis Bandaraya Shah Alam (MBSA)
  • Majlis Perbandaran Klang (MPK)
  • Majlis Perbandaran Seberan Prai (MPSP)
LCCF Provisional Certificate Award Recipients

LCCF Provisional Certificate:

  • Majlis Perbandaran Bentong
  • Majlis Perbandaran Kajang
  • Majlis Perbandaran Pasir Gudang
  • Majlis Perbandaran Ampang Jaya
  • Majlis Perbandaran Batu Pahat
  • Majlis Perbandaran Langkawi
  • Majlis Perbandaran Selayang
  • Majlis Bandaraya Pulau Pinang
  • Majlis Perbandaran Jasin
  • UNIMAS, Sarawak

Since 2011 till 2018, there have been 5 Local Authorities and 2 Universities that have been awarded the Diamond Recognition and 19 Local Authorities and 3 Universities that have been awarded the Provisional Certificate. As of October 2018, 28 other Local Authorities (including university) have also begun the process of LCCF by attending the provided training and working out the proper structures at the Local Authority level. What has been more encouraging is that private developers of townships and industrial parks such as Selangor Bio Bay, Malaysia Vision Valley and Iskandar Halal Park are also beginning to adopt LCCF and move towards low carbon developments.

LCCF has a target of getting the 52 Local Authorities from the major urban areas to begin the journey towards low-carbon city by 2020. This effort will drive Malaysia’s commitment towards reducing our CO2 emissions intensity of up to 45% by 2030. Globally, the latest IPCC Report has outlined the need for immediate and concrete action towards reducing CO2 emissions. The time for action is now and through LCCF, Malaysia has a strong foundation to build on to push towards a low carbon Nation. 

The award presentation was graced by Asdirhyme Bin Abdul Rasib, Senior Undersecretary for Energy Sector, MESTECC. Also, present was Dr Mohd Azman Bin Zainul Abidin, Chief Executive Officer, GreenTech Malaysia.